1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tell me about Austin and Travis County, Texas

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Vince S., Feb 26, 2008.

1. Vince S.

Vince S. Resident Former Bassist

Jan 24, 2003
    I'm planning far into the future, but I am currently an EMT and looking at going to Paramedic school after I graduate college. EMS career opportunities are a bit sparse in the Northeast, so I'm looking all over the country. Some places I've been looking at include Seattle-King County (I will probably make a thread at a later date) and Boston, but I'm close enough to it (CT) that I can go up there and visit.

Austin-Travis County EMS is one of the top municipal EMS systems in the country, so I'm interested in possibly applying with them and having the privilege to work for them in the future. That said, I am from New England, and I've never visited Tx before.

What is Austin like? Cost of living? How about the county itself? Crime rates? Nice areas to live?

2. DigMe

DigMe

Aug 10, 2002
    Waco, TX
    Austin is a nice place and is not lacking in fun and interesting things to do. It's nice and hilly with a lot of scenic overlook areas if you know where to go. There are tons of great eclectic restaurants and music venues. Cost of living is not bad compared to many areas of the country. Property taxes kind of stink though. If I had to live in a big city in Texas I would choose Austin. In fact we have land only 30 minutes out of Austin so I do spend a lot of time there. The town has a very unique culture and a kickin' live music scene that just keeps growing. It's not all that far to drive to Dallas and Houston. San Antonio is just down the road as is San Marcos with it's river activities and New Braunfels, which has greatest water park in the world.