Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tell Me About Avatar Cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by slap_happy, Jul 28, 2005.

1. Hey, I've been playing bass for about 4 1/2 years now but am pretty new to Talkbass. I've only heard about Avatar cabs since I've come here because their not very widely talked about or advertised elsewhere. My amp doesn't really need upgrading at the moment but could pretty soon. The volume is enough but the tone isn't the best. Anyway, I'd just like to know about the company and the reputation of its cabs, strengths, weaknesses, that kind of stuff. Regardless of price, how do they compare to more popular (and expensive) company's cabs - G-K, Hartke, and particularly SWR Workingman's (My current set up is Workingman's 4004, 4x10T, 1X15T). BTW, I have searched for info on this already but couldn't find too much. Thanks, Jim

2. illidian

illidian

Jul 2, 2004
    Jim,

You can find everything you're looking for by using the search tool.

3. ricosuave2093

ricosuave2093

Jun 9, 2005
    Oregon
    I have and use a B410Pro 4ohm with my Kustom GB1200 head at 750+watts and it sounds great as a stand alone or ontop my 15 toa sub

4. Rumzini

Rumzini

Feb 14, 2004
    Jackson, MI
    Yeah what he said. Avatar has got to be about the most asked about it seems.

5. Shroeder, reported to be excellent cabs but expensive.
    Avatar are good cabs at a good price.

6. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    If you are using SWR, Avatar has great compatibility with them. I use an Avatar 2x10 pro with a Workingman's 1x15 (works better than with my Mesa 1x15) and they sound awesome.