1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Tell me about nylon strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Jaycat, Sep 12, 2018.

1. Jaycat

Jaycat

Sep 8, 2018
    Hi all. I am new to bass and find the strings that came with my Ibanez TMB100 to be kind of noisy. Could be my (lack of) technique at this point...

However I played my buddy's bass equipped with what I think are (black) nylon strings. They felt much smoother with much less associated squeaking etc. Possibly the sound was less bright however.

I'm interested in your thoughts on nylon strings, and recommendations for any particular type/brand. Thanks!

2. Aidil

Aidil

Dec 4, 2014
    Jkt, IDN
    Look for any of La Bella's White Nylon Tapewound strings if you would get the brightest nylon strings. But, beware that for some, they might cost quite substantial in comparison to your Talman bass price tag.

Still, you could get them on sale from BSO (temporary?) closing down in-stock items.

3. Sgroh87

Sgroh87

Dec 4, 2012
    DFW, Texas
    You're talking about Tapewounds. There are lots of companies that make them, but, like Aidil said, the white tape wounds are generally considered to be brighter than their black counterparts.

Jaycat likes this.
  4. Aidil

Aidil

Dec 4, 2014
    Jkt, IDN
    One more thing, nylon tapewound strings are mostly light gauge despite 50-105, cause the strings underneath the tapes are much smaller than those numbers. Don't know exactly, could be 40-95 strings inside, which might be too light for some who has strong plucking fingers.

La Bella does offer heavier set of 60-115. But, in order to use these, you would have to file the nut slots of your bass larger.

Jaycat and Element Zero like this.
  5. Jaycat

Jaycat

Sep 8, 2018