Tell me about TI jazz rounds - vs other super light gauge sets

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by AndyPanda, Jun 18, 2020.

1. I've been playing TI Jazz Flats for a couple of years now and really love them. I don't find them to be floppy at all so I'm always surprised by the posts on TB where people find them to be wet noodles.

I'm very curious to try the Jazz Rounds from several threads I've seen with people posting their love for them. But the price :eek: The Jazz Flats turn up on Amazon for $38 sometimes and that's when I buy them - and besides the Jazz Flats last forever. But the Jazz Rounds always seem to be much, much higher in price.

Anyway hoping you guys can answer a few questions for me.
    Do the Jazz Rounds last forever like the Jazz Flats do?

What about the B string? Anyone using a 5 string set of Jazz Rounds? (I have a 130 on my fiver and it feels pretty floppy to me)

What about some of the other brands that make super light gauge sets like 40-95 four string sets or 40-120 five string sets? EB or DR or GHS or? Any of those really light sets come close to TI rounds? ($20 set vs $90)

TI Jazz Rounds vs TI Super Alloy? The SA are much less expensive - I wonder why?

2. uwrossl

uwrossl Blues/Soul/Rock N Roll Supporting Member

Nov 13, 2009
    I haven't pulled the trigger yet on the Jazz Rounds but will soon. They seem to be gaining a lot of popularity. I love the flats and agree that they weren't anywhere near as loose as people had made them out to be. No affiliation but I've pointed a few others to Strings and Beyond and the code THI10 for 10% discount on any of their TI sets. Brings the rounds to around $65(four string set) and I've never had to pay tax or shipping on anything I've ordered from there. Best price I've found on the rounds. For the TI flats I pick them up like most when they are cheap on Amazon.