1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tell me this is legit

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JSandbloom, Apr 5, 2015.

1. JSandbloom

JSandbloom Supporting Member

Feb 2, 2004
    Redding, Ca
    Grace Guitars USA
    I'm about to drive 2 hours to pick this bad boy up. I just want to run it by here to make sure it visually checks out. I'm not a Ricky expert by any means.

Rickenbacker Base Guitar

2. jd56hawk

jd56hawk

Sep 12, 2011
    The Garden State
    I'm interested in what those in the know have to say, too, because the price is hard to believe.
    If it is genuine, I guess you realize it's the kind of deal you'll never see again.

3. image. The tuning machines don't look original.

johnpbass and Goatrope like this.
  4. Gilmourisgod

Gilmourisgod

Jun 23, 2014
    Cape Cod MA
    Tuners don't look right, but the fingerboard looks correct. Any way they can get you more photos, particularly serial number on jack plate? If it's a fake it looks pretty convincing, and a steal at that price. The Rickresource forum has a serial number database, take a smartphone or laptop with you and look up the serial number on the spot. If it is fake, probably a Japanese "lawsuit" era from the 70's or 80's, could still be a very good bass. Good luck with it.

Aqualung60 likes this.
  5. I have not read any of the replies, just feel like responding straight away.

I could tell you it is legit, if that's what you want to hear.

That said, it's so bogus I don't know where to begin.

cdef likes this.
  6. ElliottStrong

ElliottStrong Music City via the Motor City Supporting Member

Jun 1, 2013
    Nashville/ Detroit
    It says right in the title "base" guitar, not "bass" guitar.

7. dutchwife

dutchwife

Aug 6, 2007
    Osaka, Japan