1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tell me why I should buy a Looper...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Jughead6, Mar 27, 2015.

1. I have space on my pedalboard for one more pedal.... unless I get a bigger pedalboard, of course ;)

I have never used a looper before, and have been interested to try one. I can see that it could be kinda fun for home use, just messing around. But I'm interested to hear from seasoned long-term looper users.

Without getting into product-specific details, why would I want to include a looper on my pedalboard? How often and what do you guys use your looper for?

2. Ive had a few. Basically to make a long story short I probably wouldnt put a dedicated looper on my board unless i did a solo bass project. I see them more as a practing and writing tool. But there are other loopers that have more than one roll. For example some delays have a looper. Some loopers have expandable memory using memory cards that can be used as foot controlled samplers.

7dollarbologna likes this.
  3. AciDBatH666

AciDBatH666

Feb 13, 2008
    Lafayette, LA
    For playing with my band, no use. For writing licks and coming up with something my guitarists can play like an octave of my riff, it's great.

Adamixoye likes this.
  4. BBox Bass

BBox Bass Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2011
    NW Pennsylvania
    Mine has been quite useful for playing prerecorded samples of sound effects and keyboard fills.

fclefgeoff likes this.
  5. bass12

bass12 Say "Ahhh"... Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2008
    Montreal, Canada
    Because they're fun. Because they're fun. Because they're fun. Because they're fun.

6. Yeah, that was my initial attraction. I can see why a looper would be a lot of fun.

So, I'm getting the idea there are few practical uses but they're good for messing around and solo recording.

I might try a TC Ditto and see how it goes.