Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tell me why I shouldn't buy a Dean Edge Q6 (or why I should if that suits you better)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by steamboat, Aug 20, 2000.

1. I've been playing for about nine months now, and as I develop more and more as a player and I find my own unique style, I've found that I'm moving towards an approach to the bass that a 6 string would fit very nicely. (but enough of that..I want to find out about Dean basses..not the merits of a 4 vs a 5 vs a 6 vs a 7 string doubleneck ;) )

A while back I walked into my local music store and saw a Dean Edge Q4 and a Q5. I picked up the 4 and dinked around a bit on it, solely on the basis that I thought it was cool looking. I wasn't in the market for a new bass then, I think I was just there to get a new set of strings. I loved the feel of it and the acoustic tone was fine, but I really didn't get a good idea of the tone because I didn't plug it in (I may slap, I may hang around music stores a bit, and I may be a teenager, but I don't meet the stereotype of the guys that slap pointlessly fast in music stores at annoyingly high volumes.. unless I'm seriously interested in the bass I usually won't even plug in, and then it's at quiet volumes using an amp similar to mine.. unless of course I want to try out an amp :p). I didn't pick up the 5 because at that time I didn't forsee myself ever playing more than 4 strings.

Just last Thursday I walked into a music store in Madison (I'm going to UW-Madison this year.. might as well check out stores now) and saw another Q4. I picked it up and played with it a bit, again unamped. It played even better than I thought it would, and it sparked my interest in Dean basses.