1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Testing a Bass with no previous expeirence

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by theshadow2001, Dec 14, 2006.

1. theshadow2001

theshadow2001

Jun 17, 2004
    Ireland
    So hopefully in the new year Im going to be heading across to england to look at a few basses. The problem being that I've never played one before and I don't really have any reference to gauge the instruments from. Typicaly the advice around here is to get your teacher to check it out the instrument with you. However I can't ask the guy to fly over to England over two weekends to go look at basses with me.
    I've been playing guitar and bass for five or six years and have been in bands with varying degrees of quality instruments and equipment so I would like to think I wouldn't be completely clueless as to what sounds good or bad. But the sound is one thing the playability is another. I don't even know how far apart a semi tone is on an upright let alone know if one bass plays better than another.

So has anyone any advice they would like to share on how to approach this unusual perdicament

2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    If yer teacher has any friends, acquaintances, people who know people who know people, get some names.

If there's no joy there, use this board to try to locate someone who'll go with you. For example, if you came to NYC, I'd be happy to fall by Dave Gage's shop with you.

Worst case scenario, you're going to have top get somebody else at the shop to play it while you walk around. YOU want to play it too but, being somewhat of a neophyte, you want somebody with a little more experience.