TF-550 vs iAmp800 / Accugroove vs EA-CXL

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Rocky55, Sep 14, 2005.

1. Hey guys,

I have been reading up on Thunderfunk and Accugroove for the last couple of weeks. My current rig consists of
    - iAmp800
    - 2 CXL112

Has anyone compared the iAmp800 to the TF-550? Do they have comparable volume at 4ohms? What are the major differences tonewise?

Secondly, the Accugroove line has gotten me really curious. If I was to only change one, would I gain more benefit keeping the iAmp and buying Accugroove, or getting the Thunderfunk and keeping EA cabs? I would only do one for now.

I'm not sure which AC cabs I would get yet. The Jr sound about right to me though... then again, a TRI112 and 210 could also do the trick... decisions, decisions!!!!!

2. Steve Clark

Steve Clark Supporting Member

Jan 9, 2004
    London ON
    I guess the first question will be what do you want to hear in your tone that you don't now? I have no experience with TF or AG but I'm sure Tom Bowlus and others, who have experienced both, will chime in.
  3. I own the TF550 and used an iAmp800 for about a year prior to selling it. Both wonderful heads. The bottom end coming out of the iAmp800 at 4ohms is really amazing, and is wider and fuller than the TF (this is not necessarily a good thing, IMO... depends what you are looking for). I found the tone controls on both amps very good, and both amps have lots of sound options. I found that I had to tweek the iAmp to get my sound more than the TF (but that's based on personal tone preference).

As far as your specific question.... I actually found the 'perceived volume' of the TF to be the same or even more than the iAmp (even given the wattage difference), which was a little 'wider' sounding and didn't quite punch through a busy pop/funk mix as well as the TF. Again, this could be very dependent on the tone I go for (round wound funk) and the type of gigs I do (pop/funk mostly).