That instant SVT magic tone

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by barroso, Dec 30, 2005.

1. barroso

Aug 16, 2000
    I am still complaining concerning how the tone I prefer jumps out Ampeg SVT amplifiers and Fender Precision basses.

I own 2 Fender Precision basses which i totally love but there is no SVT in my practice room.

I do not have an SVT for different and valid (to me) outstanding reasons. I can summarize as follows: SVT is too heavy, too powerful and too expensive for my real needs.

I remind that I am an amateur player (3 pieces rockabilly band) with biweekly band practice and with really small gigging activities.

I ended (at the moment) with amps that to me sound the closest to a Classic SVT and that are lighter and cheaper. I have a TECH21 Landmark 600 half stack (with matching TECH21 B410 cabinet) which I bought at a really interesting price one year ago and I recently added a small and old Ampeg B-3 head, an entry level solid state head, short on nominal power (only 175W @4 ohm.. and I use a single 8 Ohm cabinet).

Truth to be told even the Ampeg B-3 has more than adequate output volume for my needs. The Ampeg tone is there and I actually switch between the TECH21 and the B3 (by the way I bought this head used at 100 Euros...) based on feeling. Both do the job. Obviously the TECH21 is a power monster with powerful EQ. At the moment I start to play with the Ampeg B3, and the second part of the practice is done with the TECH21 with a tone really similar to Ampeg one.

As you may understand I play with a SVT like tone without a real SVT amplfier. Since I suppose that I am not alone doing this I would appreciate to know your experience and your actual condition and rig in the SVT wannabe field.

2. Texx

Sep 10, 2004
    Did you sell all your Markbass stuff? :p