1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The 8" speaker, and the evil machinations of my mind...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kalipigeon, Jun 29, 2007.

1. So I play bass, bassVI (sorta baritone?), and guitar, and often with the same band on the same set. You can imagine the fun this has made for me in the speaker cabinet venue. I like some of the rigs I've seen with 4x10 +1x15 (or 18) for bass, and was thinking that I might be able to get away with some sort of 4x8 and 2x12 (or 2x15) setup that would let me play bass with decent roundness and still have the guitar have some sparkle when I'm using it.

I know, I know...get a Henry 8x8, don't build one, or get 2 amps...I'm a poor student, people! Also, I like to tinker, so I wanted to try building something so I have a summer project to work on. Ok now that the intro is out of the way...I'd like to take some 8's (6's are too weak on midbass response from what I've seen) with decently high sensitivity (95-100 dB/W/m) and build a multi-purpose set of cabs for my Ashdown ABM 500 EII RC. Can anyone recommend a low cost , high efficiency driver for this use? I'm expecting to make up some bass with larger speakers in the lower cabinet, but the top cab will be 8s of some kind I think. I know 8's can do this, the new Fender cabs with 1x8 and 2x8 in them in the acoustic/jazz lines have some great bass and nice upper mids for both bass and guitar.

Sorry for the long, meandering post, but I figured if anyone could help, it would be someone here. I'm looking at the Eminence Acoustinator 8" series for their high end sparkle, as well as their pro audio Alpha 8A or Alpha 8M-RA drivers ($44 each at MF...). Any other suggestions for efficient drivers that can handle some medium excursion at good efficiencies would be greatly appreciated.