The ABC's of ABG B string response?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tritone, Sep 12, 2003.

1. Tritone

Tritone Supporting Member

Jan 24, 2002
    Santee, America
    Ok, here's a question for the ABG crowd (and anybody else I guess ;) ). I have a line on a new Tacoma CB-10 ($800 out the door, includes LR Baggs pre, and hard case). Anyway, it's a 4 banger, and I've been playing 5's exclusively for a few years now. This bass will be used for an acoustic- unplugged- strolling mistrel- type thing (yikes). I'll be amping (and strolling somehow) with a Pignose 30 watter to help me compete with 2 acoustic guitars and a cajon. My thinking is that a B string will just get washed out anyway, so I really won't need the B. Am I right?? Kinda leery of buying a non 5...gotten used to having that rope on top!

Thanks everybody :bassist:
  2. wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    I think B strings do pose a problem on ABG's because of the physics involved in producing a strong sound from such a thick string.

My ABG is a four string but I have a friend who uses a five string (MKS - you out there?) who has, I believe, recently switched to EADGC tuning as being more useful. Mind you, he also plays a seven string tuned BEADGCF, so what does he know :D

How much of the music you're playing depends on the B string. Also, if you're using an amp anyway, couldn't you just use your electric (or is the appearance important)?

3. joninjapan

Aug 13, 2003
    Tokyo, Japan
    I bought my CB105F because I would use the B when amplified, acoustically the B is not really there except for practice. A little amp might help, but I would think you are pushing it.
    I would recommend the bass though!!! and pick up a few felt picks, they are usually used for ukulele, the stiff ones work wonders on an ABG.:D
  4. I have an Ovation Celebrity Deluxe ABG and as wulf said, I'm currently using it EADGC. This was mostly down to preference of having a high C to play with when I'm noodling around.