Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The art of saying no

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by dirk, Sep 20, 2000.

1. dirk

dirk

Apr 6, 2000
    Memphis, TN
    Hey guys, as a new bassist I'm having a slight problem. Bassists are in demand around here and I've played out a couple of times for Church Youth events. Since I've played out on these two one shot deal gigs I've had a lot of other offers. I'm new to being a gigging musician, and I don't know what the right questions to ask are. I know to ask what type of music, obviously, and other basic stuff. What I need to know is the art of saying no. What do you ask to determine whether the gig is going to be good for you and your career. I don't want to get a reputation for not sticking with a band. Let me hear some input on how you determine what gig you want.

Dirk

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    There really are no set rules for this IMO.
    Just don't commit yourself too soon. Hang out with the guys and see if you like their personalities and their music. Try to decide for yourself if this is the band you want to be in. But there aren't any guarantees! A band can be perfect from the outside and still be the wrong one for you. Just try to be a mensch and a good musician - and people will respect you and will want you in their band. Just go for it. I think it's too early to worry that much about it. Hits and misses - it happens to the best of us, too.

3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member