The Awakening- Les Claypool

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by kirbywrx, Apr 20, 2002.

1. kirbywrx

kirbywrx formerly James Hetfield

Jul 27, 2000
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Ok, im kinda new to Primus, Les, and all that. You might of heard me talking about how I have to play a solo for school in previous threads, well I have decided, that im going to play this. I know the first few riffs, and I was just wondering if A) anyone knew where the COMPLETE bass tabs was and B) if there are any tips for this song or if anyone else came across bad habits when they were learning it. Thanks
  2. *ToNeS*

Jan 12, 2001
    Sydney AU
    - it's not nearly as hard as you probably think it is.

- you're going to need to play it along with a drummer, or else you will sound like a knobsticle.

- don't listen to it and think you're hearing the right way it's played; get it right indefinitely, because it's just that kind of song.

- you might want to ad-lib a few of the fingerstyle parts, because Les's ad-libbing is just stupidly difficult to follow. as a whole, however, the song is pretty straightforward.

- the repetition in the outro gives me the ****s. do something else there in order to gain more chicks.

good luck, young Jedi kirbster.

have the holy mackrel version - i don't now how right it is but it's worth a look.

I play the tommy the cat version as attached.

The finger style in the two versions of the solo are different and i don't think he palys the chords in the mackrel version.

I might get that version of mine done up in standard notation eventually.
  4. I got bored so here it is in noteworthy composer. you can get it from

It's pretty dodgey cos u can't slide of mute but hey - theyr'e denoted appropriately (yes 's' is slide).