1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

**The Bass Case Thread**

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fine Cut, Sep 10, 2008.

1. I've been playing out for almost 4 years now, and i've always used gig bags. usually, I go for the heavier padded gig bags, the flimsy thin canvas ones are just absolutly pointless to me (as this thread my be lol). This past weekend, i picked up a '94 Fender P which came with a hard case. I'd been "meaning" to get a hard case for my Jazz bass for a while, but the P bass having a hard case gives me more of an incentive to replace my jazz's padded gig bag. I'm thinkin about a tweed musicians gear case from MF.

What kind of cases do you guys use? or do you use gig bags, if so, reason? maybe some of you have custom-made cases...

Lets see how you guys (and gals) take care of your babies!

2. Weel, most of the time just padded gigbags, but some of my beauties only leave the house in a case: my 70's rickcopy, the italia mondial (i just don't trust that 'acoustiglass') and my peavey t-40 (just because i have the original case :D)

3. ()smoke()

()smoke()

Feb 25, 2006
    Dallas
    i use a cheap fender tweed-look gigbag for my jazz basses, and my roscoe has a vintage-style hardcase...

i will most likely have a nice padded gigbag made for my roscoe as i much prefer a soft bag to a hardcase just because it's more comfortable to carry, easier to pack, less bulky and less wear on what it's next to in my vehicle (ie, the hard case requires either padding around it or that it be placed away from my cabs to keep from rubbing them and marking them up in the car)

a soft bag is quite sufficient in terms of protection for my needs...if i were packing my instrument in a trailer, i'd use an ATA flightcase

4. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA