1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The Bass MuRF/MIDI MuRF sample thread.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by funkcicle, Jan 23, 2013.

1. funkcicle

funkcicle

Jan 9, 2004
    Asheville, NC
    I wrote this on another forum a few months ago and came across it today, thought it would sit well with the TB crowd. I've been using the Moog Bass MuRF for several years now (I actually own SN #0001) but hadn't really applied it practically until the last year or so. The links below are to streams of the entire tracks, but compressed to 128kbps... if you'd like to hear the tracks in context and uncompressed I linked to the entire albums (which can be downloaded for free) at the end of the post. I'd love it if other people who have made recordings with their MuRFs would contribute to this thread as well.

1. ["Spooky Sexy"] I recommend headphones to really hear the nuance of the stereo "murf" effect. It's subtle, like a big viscous ocean gently rocking a boat.

2. ["Moontrance"] This is with the envelope turned almost all the way down, creates a rhythmic percussive-sounding effect, really cool with that particular rhythmic setting, nice backbeat to it. The envelope starts to come up slowly after the 3-minute mark if you wanna hear what that sounds like.

3. ["Slowly Decomposing"] A much more playful bass line, this was improvised live along with the guitar part (theremin was overdubbed later). This is a good example of the awesome rhythmic stability the bass MuRF can provide, especially in place of a drummer.