The "Beatle" Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Blkholesun, Sep 20, 2005.

1. I'll start off by saying Paul McCartney is the reason I started playing bass. I played one of these, not sure what brand, a few days ago in a store and loved the sound of it. Problem is, I looked them up on ebay and prices range from $1500-$2300 and $150-$400. Aside from the fact that I know I can't afford the Hofners (the real expensive ones), I need to figure out which brand truly sounds like the real deal. If anyone could spread some light on this issue, it would be much appreciated. I don't like the sound of my current bass as much as I'd like to, and now I'm really excited about these :hyper: :bassist:
  2. iamthebassman

Feb 24, 2004
    Endorsing Artist: Phantom Guitars, Eastwood Guitars
    Search the archives for TONS of threads on this subject.
  3. Pennydreadful

Pennydreadful Goin out West

Jun 13, 2005
    Arlington, Texas
    I've got a black Jay Turser copy, and it has shockingly good tone and playability. I love it! I think they retail for around 300 USD.
  4. srxplayer

May 19, 2004
    Highland, CA
    I played an Epiphone copy at a local store and it wasn't bad.
  5. fourstringbliss

fourstringbliss Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2003
    Puyallup, WA
  6. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    I'm pretty certain the Brice and Rogue are produced in the same factory.

I played a violin bass on Sunday owned by MAJOR METAL (there is a picture of me playing it in the NYC GTG picture thread). He got it silly cheap on eBay... I liked it a lot (though I look REAL silly holding/playing it).
  7. I think there is a violin bass on Rondo Music that would be worth a look. I'm not a fan of the beatle bass but I've played the Epiphone and Turser versions of it and they were about the same. Still, I don't like them.

MAJOR METAL HARVESTER OF SORROW Staff Member Supporting Member