1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The best 12AX7's and 12AU7's for SVT 3-PRO

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by miketallica315, Oct 4, 2010.

1. miketallica315

miketallica315

Aug 16, 2009
    Toledo, OH
    Hello bass friends,
    I have to replace the tubes in my 2006 (American) SVT 3-PRO. I am on a budget (not really) and am looking for the best tubes to provide the best tone possible. Naturally, I looked at Groove Tubes first, but the Ampeg Tech Rep said that he thought that the Electro-Harmonix were the best way to go. This is my first re-tube ever since owning my SVT. What do you guys think? I value everyone’s opinion because I am a tone junkie and I have no clue what is the best or what to use because again, I have never done this before. Thanks everybody!:bassist:

2. jastacey

jastacey

Feb 8, 2009
    Houston,Tx
    This is pretty subjective, but I'd say get the JAN 6189W for the 12AU7, they are somewhat inexpensive, but really good quality .... I've had good luck with JJ's

3. miketallica315

miketallica315

Aug 16, 2009
    Toledo, OH
    I am looking for an "edgy" that also gives a lot of gain and low noise. I forgot to mention that. Thanks!

4. I agree on the JJs. In my pre-amp they made a difference from the Sovtek that I used at first. It's nothing I can quantify but it just seemed better. truthfully I can't even tell you if it's real or imagined.

That said, I honestly don't think that many players would notice too much difference between brands. For you, you'll just have to try.

5. kaygee

kaygee

Jan 21, 2008
    UK
    Another vote for JJ's from me, good tone and value for money

6. CopperheadLXXIX

CopperheadLXXIX

Aug 9, 2003
    Jax, FL
    JJ ECC803S (The one with the really long plate...) Best sounding preamp tube I've ever used. EVAH.

7. ptolemny

ptolemny

Jan 12, 2010
    California