The best Bass for me?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ollielangfan, May 12, 2005.

1. ollielangfan

Apr 3, 2005
    Nampa, ID
    Im just learning to play my bass with my "Bass Basix" book and my Yamaha bass but I was recently told that Yamaha really sucks. And my yamahas the only thing Ive ever played and if theres any chance that im not gonna be able to learn or play correctly with it Id get a new bass as soon as possable. So what im saying is what is the best bass for me? Im a bigginer, I like hard rock and Metal, and Im on a pretty tight bujjit. Can someone please refur me to a certain brand and/or model?
  2. eric234

eric234 Guest

Mar 11, 2005
    " but I was recently told that Yamaha really sucks. "
    do you think it sucks and plus yamaha's are really good people just say there bad because you don't usually associate yamaha with music intsruments bu seriosly if you like it and your learning how to play don't worry about it
  3. Musicfreak1988

Feb 2, 2005
    Don't expect a cheap bass sounds like a $5000 one. Yamaha basses are great bang for the buck! And if you are learning to play bass on a Yamaha, it would not be a problem if you buy on a good day a more expensive bass. I began to play bass on a Yamaha and I currently bought a MM Stringray. No problems at all. Though, I don't say that it'll feel the same. It'll take time to get used to, but you won't have major problems. Unless you buy a short scale bass or a superlong scale bass or a +6 string bass. Even then, if you play enough and if you really WANT to, it's not so hard to learn. I'd say, practise alot on your Yammie, save some money and before you buy a more expensive bass, test it in the store. Every bass, even if it's the same model and brand, is different. Buy what you like and don't buy the first bass you get your hands on. Search for a bass that fits your needs. Sound, feel, etc... Good luck! Sam.