The best bass for me?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Adrenaline, Sep 13, 2003.

1. Adrenaline

Sep 13, 2003
    Dallas, Texas
    Hello everyone.

I could use some help. I am a beginner electric bassist. I am having a difficult time with deciding on a great bass to learn on. Money isn't an much of an option. Some people are advising me to just get any cheap Bass and learn on that first. These people have played other instruments but are not Bassist. I was hoping that some of you guys who have been playing Bass could give me some advise on the best Bass for me to spend this learning phase with. Please be as specific as you can on make and models. This will help tremendously and serve as education. There are so many type of Basses out there. My interest are Funk, R&B, Hip Hop and Jazz mainly. I hope to be versitile. Thanks for any advice.

2. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    Highlighting these points my first thought is an American made Fender Jazz bass or even an Artist series like the Marcus Miller.

At close to the same money you could go with a Lakland Skyline series (55-02 or 44-02 are my pick).

Above that... my bass money gets spent on Benavente basses :cool:
  3. BoiNtC

Nov 25, 2002
    NYC, USA
    not much money? how much you willing to spend?

Essex(personally I have never owned one, but I keep hearing great things about em! Cheapest and probably best to start you off with)
    Fender MIM (Made in Mexico)(I started by playing a friend's Mexican P Bass, great bass, good bang for the buck, a bit more expensive unless you buy used, you might find a great deal)
    Fender MIJ (Made in Japan)(Next step up, according to some it's arguably as good/better than the MIA some of the Fender artist series are MIJ like the Marcus Miller 4string and the Geddy Lee)