Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The best bass for the buck.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TheBebop, May 11, 2003.

1. TheBebop

TheBebop

May 11, 2003
    Boston
    I'm sure you are all tired of these topics but you are going to have to deal with it. I am just getting into the bass because I would like to contribute more to my band than my modest singing skillz. What would you suggest for a [very] cheap first bass? I've heard Ibanez makes a good entry level bass, but what do people I know... um, know?

P.S. Aural Sect will own your childrens' bands.

2. Ben Mishler

Ben Mishler

Jan 22, 2003
    San Jose
    I would recomend that you check out Essex basses. They are widely considered great basses for the money here at talkbass. Check out the store website.

3. something used... buying a cheap bass new is a waste... you get garbage for 300 bucks new but for the same money you can find a lot of nice used basses

4. Obsolex

Obsolex Guest

Nov 17, 2002
    Best bang for the buck... I got the Ibanez SR3005ESOL, and that is the most bang for the buck that I could think of, sounds great, nicely made, $1050... One of the nicest basses i've ever played... _-soto-_

5. TheBebop

TheBebop

May 11, 2003
    Boston
    You just want to make me whimper, don't you?

Thank you to the other two who helped, I'll consider both routes.

6. kap'n kro

kap'n kro

May 7, 2003
    New Jersey
    I took a look at that link given to the essex basses to check them out... wow they looked pretty nice... almost too nice for the $199?!? being charged for them? Why are those things so cheap? Everybody knows the saying about something seeming too good to be true...

7. TheBebop

TheBebop

May 11, 2003
    Boston
    Indeed. They did look far too nice to be 119, 169, 199 dollars. Are they blemished or something?

8. mogator

mogator

Aug 12, 2002