Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The "Best" Flatwounds

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Platypus_Of_420, Feb 13, 2006.

1. this is completely personal taste, but i wanna put some flats on my bass soon and i've never used flats before and im missin out, so what are the "best" flatwounds in your opinion?

2. Aaron J

Aaron J

Jul 16, 2003
    Cincinnati, OH
    I have been using LaBella Deep Talkin' Bass flats on my Lakland Bob Glaub. They are great strings if you are going for a thumpy old-school vibe. The strings (and I'm sure my bass) really have a nice way of wrapping around a live mix. I like them better than other flats I've tried, but I have yet to try the Thomastik jazz flats. I would love to try those strings, but I can't see myself taking the LaBella's off any time soon. They are exactly what I'm looking for.

3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    Well, do you want a flatwound sound, or do you want a sweet, unique some FROM flatwounds? I love the sound of TI Jazz Flats, but they're not really a flatwound sound, per se. For an actual flatwound sound, I really liked the Fender mediums.

4. paul n

paul n

May 6, 2005
    Arden, NC
    LaBella; 'nuff said!

~Paul :)

5. SGT. Pepper

SGT. Pepper Banned

Nov 20, 2005
    Phila,Pa.
    +1

6. i'm not really asking for a recommendation of flatwounds, i'm just wondering what flatwounds you prefer

7. flatwoundfender

flatwoundfender

Feb 24, 2005
    I use the deep talkin jamersons, but those are huge (the e is a 110) but they sound great. Labella deep talkin or the fender I thing 9050 maybe are the way to go.

8. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    I worship TI jazz flats.

9. Beefbass

Beefbass Guest

Feb 4, 2001

I just switched back to Fender 9050ML's. Couldn't agree with the above statement more :hyper: