Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The Best of the Basses.....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by paul_mccartney, Apr 20, 2001.

1. In your humble opinion(s), what would you say is the best bass for....

(1) ...funk?

(2) ...jazz?

(3) ...hard rock/metal/alternative?

(4) ...pop?

(5) ...Latin?

(6) ...Anything else in particular?

(7) ...what about for versatility?

(8) and overall?

My apologies if I'm reviving a dead thread.

Being a beginner, I won't cast my votes, but instead will use it as a reference point.

So, which bass is best?

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

As much as you'll probaly hate to see this, I've seen all kinds of basses used in all kinds of genres/styles by many exceptional players. As long as they have sufficient amplification, it's really who's at the wheel.

3. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    (1) ...funk? Fender Jazz or Spector NS-5

(2) ...jazz?

(3) ...hard rock/metal/alternative? Spector NS-5 or a Sadowsky 24 fret 5 string

(4) ...pop? Spector NS-5

(5) ...Latin?

(6) ...Anything else in particular? Spector NS-5

(7) ...what about for versatility? G&L L-2500

(8) and overall? Spector NS-5

I left jazz & latin out because I don't want to comment on music I'm not to familiar with. But I'll go ahead & say Spector NS-5 for both catagories.

4. cole

cole

Sep 14, 2000
    Maryland
    (1) ...funk?

MusicMan Stingray.

(2) ...jazz?

an upright bass.

hard rock/metal: Spector NS-2 or Modulus Quantum (# of strings you need).

alternative: Gibson Ripper.

(4) ...pop?

Fender P-bass.

(5) ...Latin?

no idea.

blues - P-bass.
    prog-rock - Rickenbacker 4003.

Jazz bass.

(8) and overall?

the one you're most comfortable with.

5. I think a Fender MIA Jazz will do for whatever style you play. But as Rickbass1 says it's who's at the wheel.