1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The Best Way to Appeal to like-minded (upright) Bass Players and Jazz Musicians?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Thunderthumbs73, Sep 29, 2008.

1. Thunderthumbs73

Thunderthumbs73

May 5, 2008
    I am a drummer, and I would like to play (or practice) with some like-minded musicians. I'm really looking to do some stuff like:

...basically, "late-night" 3AM jazz and ECM piano trio-type stuff... minus the fusion, bop or rock.

As an upright and electric bass player, myself, I know that in the ECM catalogue (and music like it), there are great, expressive opportunities for the bass player, aside from holding down the low end, and also that the drums are not over the top. This is good for the bass player, as that individual will not struggle to be heard over bombastic drums, and there will be plenty of sonic space for a bass player, at least in terms of how open I could leave things on the drum front.

I'm trying to figure out a way to write an ad to draw the appropriate players (bass and piano) into this kind of sound. I've done a few ads, and references to these artists or ECM in specific do not seem to work, nor does a more vague approach of musical characteristics without the label or name-dropping.

I'm not opposed to diverse kinds of music, but I believe I know my listening and playing preferences (both as a musician in general, and as a drummer, in specific), and I feel it is fair for me to try to seek out a way make that specific type of music heard which is very important to me.