1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The Biggest Problem Mixing

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by stonewall, Oct 3, 2013.

1. stonewall

stonewall

Jun 14, 2010
    ontario,Canada
    Out of all the things that could give you trouble having a great mix i find in almost every band i have been in since i started is the SNARE drum.Ive been doing sound from stage for at least 30 years of course i can do better from sitting at a board out front but for alot of us thats not something we can afford.I do what i would call a simple mix everyone give me their on stage sound there liking once they mess for a quick moment i will add them lightly in the board trying to mimic there stage tones perfectly a nice punchy wet kick tom 1,2 floor tom get the drummer to give me a beat a couple rolls nothing loud just a nice blend and balanced mix.Never can i mic the snare i want to but i cant put a mic up there to minus volume it would be just for show.This summer we have played 5 or 6 outdoor gigs not one of them could i put a mic on the snare.I dont think drummers realize how loud a snare is im not bashing im more curious is it maybe their head is almost straight above the snare and they cant hear the bottom of the snare ?i dont know it just seems very comon with more than just one drummer i know.Does anyone else experience this?

2. jaywa

jaywa

May 5, 2008
    Iowa City, IA
    I agree. It seems like the snare drum either sounds really good or really bad and there's not a lot you can do at the board to fix it. More than any other piece of the kit it seems like you really need to have good sound at the source which comes from a good snare drum, with the right heads, correctly tuned and played with the right technique. That's a pretty rare combination, unfortunately.