The Blues

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Nagrom, Jul 26, 2013.

1. Nagrom

Nagrom

Mar 21, 2004
    Western Canada
    So, here I sit, Friday evening. Just got off the phone; tonight's gig is cancelled. BL showed up, started to load in, and got the word. A DJ was driving in from out of town instead of us. Nice fill-in gig for me, two nights. Got all of about an hour's notice.

And I guess that's why they call it....

2. intheory

intheory

Nov 17, 2009
    SW Florida
    Ugh-sorry man!!

3. Bummer. :(

4. nortonrider

nortonrider

Nov 20, 2007
    Moral of this Story.........
    Put away the bass, become a DJ and work whenever you want!

5. Nagrom

Nagrom

Mar 21, 2004
    Western Canada
    Nah, I'm a musician, not a DJ.

6. nortonrider

nortonrider

Nov 20, 2007
    I feel you.....
    There are a lot of us "musicians" at home right now on a Friday night typing on a computer instead of out entertaining a crowd.
    Stupid DJ's!

7. Rich 67 jazz

Rich 67 jazz

Nov 25, 2010
    New Jersey
    That sucks

8. bluewine

bluewine Inactive

Sep 4, 2008
    WI
    Last night we played a major County Fair side stage. Josh Turner was the national act.

It was unseasonably cold (again) which has had an impact on several of our outside shows this year. But the sad thing was they had a DJ stage 500 ft away from our stage.

There were several thousand kids 16-21 dancing having a great time. We had only a handful of people, at the embarassing level. We could hardly hear ourselves over the DJ volume.

Crowds have been disapointing, outside of SummerFest this year. I will be post a thread soon.

Blue

9. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    I hope you still got paid. :atoz:

10. sleeplessknight

sleeplessknight Supporting Member

Mar 8, 2002
    Seattle
    Argh, that makes me sad like you wouldn't believe. Even before I got 'into music' I just could not wrap my head around what was so great about a DJ.

11. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001