1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The burp

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chasfur, May 18, 2011.

1. chasfur

chasfur

Feb 14, 2009
    Elkhart , Indiana
    Ok I'm a noob but I got a question for my fellow TBrs. How do you get that burpy jazz sound? I even se peeps getting it on ibanez basses. Also that classic geddy lee sound? Sans amp RBI? Any pointers are helpful folk much appreciciated

2. Rebop

Rebop

Jul 9, 2008
    La Honda, CA
    Solo the bridge pickup and play close to it or over it. The burp, for me, comes when I dig in near the bridge.

3. EADGCoffee

EADGCoffee

Apr 18, 2011
    I agree with the bridge solo'd and playing over that pickup. You've got to be careful with the treble though... just enough and you get that burp, too much and you get a honky sound.

4. I favor the bridge, not solo it, and play right above it.

The Geddy sound? As in both pups wide open, with treble full on?

5. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    "That Geddy sound". Right. Which one?

6. Hifiguy

Hifiguy

Jul 9, 2008
    Correct, Buff. roll the neck pickup back to about 20%, play over or slightly infront of the bridge pickup, at least if we're talking about Jazzes. Dead bang on the Geddy tone, which is very similar to the tone Greg Lake - then a Jbass player - was using in the mid-70s.

7. XylemBassGuitar

XylemBassGuitar Supporting Member Commercial User

Aug 14, 2008
    Durango, CO
    Owner and Operator, Xylem Handmade Basses and Guitars
    You guys actually know what someone means when they describe a sound as "burpy"?