Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

THE CAB PROBLEM FROM HELL!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by thebassmuchacho, Oct 27, 2003.

1. I bought a 410 b series ampeg cab along with a ampeg svt3, both brand new, and 4 days later the cab blew. So i took it back, they fixed it, and when i got it back(4 weeks later) that night i was playing it and it was still broken or it broke again. So i took it back and they gave me a whole new cab(the 410 classic series), and i left feeling happy. A week later the cab is blown. Im thinking theres something wrong with the amp because im not blasting the cabs at loud volumes and im not clipping it like crazy, i hardly was clipping at all if any. Any advice anyone?

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Is this happening using the same power source/outlet each time ???

3. well im a student at berklee and the power source is the outlets that they have in the practice rooms and jam rooms, so no im not exactly using the same power source, but the sources are in thesame area. But other bassists play their equipment there too and they have no problems.....i must be cursed.

4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

RATS! I was hoping we could take the "easy" way out.
    If you haven't already, I'd contact St. Louis Music and bitch.

5. i tried to find the info to contact them, but the only option i got online, or the only option i found, was a mailing adress, which would take probably a couple of weeks to get a reply. Do they have a phone number? i couldnt find it on the ampeg site.

6. How are you setting your EQ? Too much lows can blow cabs even if the amp isn't clipping. And are you slapping and popping hard? That can do it too. Either way, the cab could be dying from excessive speaker excursion, not from the amp clipping. Excessive excursion isn't the fault of the cab or the amp.