1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The "cheap" envelope filter poll

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by kaiser_sosea, Jun 18, 2007.

1. Ashdown Envelope Filter Plus

5 vote(s)
    11.1%
  2. EHX Dr. Q

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. EHX Q Tron

29 vote(s)
    64.4%
  4. EHX Bassballs

11 vote(s)
    24.4%
  1. Ashdown Envelope Filter

Vs.

Electro Harmonix Dr. Q

Vs.

Electro Harmonix Q Tron

Vs.

Electro Harmonix Bassballs

Any other suggestions or opinions are welcomed as i am an effects newb, please help me, just looking for the most bang for my buck new or used for under $100. Thanks in advance TB ers!

2. JanusZarate

JanusZarate Low End Avenger

Feb 21, 2006
    Petaluma, CA, USA
    From what I've heard... the first two don't get very good reviews. Now, for the last two...

The Bassballs is a unique effect - it's a twin filter with a sound that you won't get out of other envelope filter pedals. It's unique enough that it may not be what you're looking for in terms of versatility, even though it's pretty cool, IMO.

At any rate, check out the Nano Bassballs (the tiny reissue of the previous model) if you're interested.

As for the Q-Tron... you mean the Mini (or Micro) Q-Tron, right? The regular isn't as cheap. Overall, it's probably closer to what you're looking for in a filter at this price range, since it's more "traditional" than a Bassballs would be.

There are other filters out there, too - search this forum for threads on envelope filters to see what I mean.

Personally, I love the Nano Bassballs and the Micro Q-Tron, and if I had a need for filters in the music I play, those would definitely be the pedals I'd go after on a budget.