The Definitive Music Genre List

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Apr 14, 2005.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    Since I forgot who started a difinitive bass tone list, I thought this could be another helpful list. I however do NOT have the mind to contribute, as I'm not very good at this crap. Disco and Rock are all there still is to me.

How many differrent genres and subgenres are there in music? Anyone wanna take a stab at a list?

Old Shcool metal
    Acid Jazz

You get the idea.
  2. msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    We can't forget the -core idioms...

3. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    ...and that (should) be the final word.
    Good job, Josh!
  4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Well... I suppose it people actually are interested in this they could contribute. Personally I dislike the compartmentalizing of music, I use the minimum amount of genres possible in my itunes, simply for organizational purposes. Once you get into sub sub genres it just gets pretty silly if you ask me. Coupled with the fact that any band can kinda invent their own genres to define their sound, which is also silly imo.

I believe has a comprehensive list of genres, and that page tends to include even very silly sub sub genres.
    For the sake of the thread though, here's a list of the genres I use in iTunes, they are the ones I feel are important enough to warrant having a genre tag, otherwise I don't really care.

Hip Hop/rap
    New age
    Solo Bass
  5. Against Will

Against Will Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2003
    Big Sound Central
    Honestly there are more 'sub-genres' than anyone could hope to shake a stick at, they're the product of lazy record reviewers and fanzine writers. There are new ones every two months it seems.

Some of my favorites:

6. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002