The difference between a bass solo and a guitar solo.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Lowtonejoe, Aug 22, 2005.

1. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    What is it?

I have played guitar for about 20 years and have absolutely no problem soloing over any blues tune. I love the blues and 90% of the time it is what I play.

I have been playing bass now for about 5 years and now consider it my primary instrument.

But I still can't figure out what a solo should sound like on a bass! All I keep putting out is guitar licks!

To be honest by biggest hangup is not having someone hold down the groove while I solo. When I play guitar I play off of everyone else as much as I play off of myself. Every time I have been given a solo spot as a bass player everyone drops out but me.

Is this normal?

How do I construct a bass sounding bass solo as opposed to an ex-guitar player sounding bass solo.

Or am I stressing over nothing?
  2. el_Kabong

Jul 11, 2005
    It's hard when half the band stops and looks at you isn't it? I tend to think in terms of two different types of solos. One is the regular guitar type solo, the usual melodic type of thing. If there's a keyboard player in your band get them to get their left hand working when you intend to take this type of solo. Even if it's just basic chords to outline the changes it gives the colour you want for your solo to work against. I think much of the time other players stop to give the bass room to speak, sometimes it can have trouble cutting through as a solo instrument. So I think its important in this situation to have a solo sound that will cut through a live mix with everyone playing.