1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

the difference between tremolo, vibrato and rotary?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by jomahu, Oct 5, 2006.

1. jomahu

jomahu

Dec 15, 2004
    Bos, MA
    i'm new to these effects, but i can't tell the difference.

:confused:

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    Tremolo is a volume effect. What you are hearing is the volume being dropped and boosted according to the rate of the tremolo. It can be done with your volume knob, a volume pedal, a tremolo pedal, or an amp with a tremolo built in.

Vibrato is the sound of moving between notes. Many guitars feature tailpieces called vibrato bars to do this. The term "tremolo" bar was a misnomer by Leo Fender and it's stuck to this day. It can also be done by using your hands; think of it as a light continous bend - without actually bending the string.

Rotary effects simulate playing through a Leslie cab. I imagine this effect would be greatly diminished if you weren't playing through a stereo setup.

None of these effects are terribly useful for bassists in most normal settings, but for bassists in adventurous bands or solo bassists, they can add lots of color.

3. Dash Rantic

Dash Rantic

Nov 12, 2005
    Palo Alto, CA
    I've mostly heard them called "Whammy bars", sometimes "tremolo bars", can't say I've heard "vibrato bar" yet but it makes the most sense out of them all.

But yeah, the three effects are all pretty different--tremolo and rotary effects are probably the most similar of the three, though.

-Dash

4. bongomania

bongomania Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs