Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The double thumb: opinions.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Brilliant Fool, Jun 23, 2003.

1. Ok then, I've been playing bass for about 10 months now. I practice a LOT, usually for 5+ hours a day. If I had something better to do, I probobly would. Anyhow, I picked up the Wooten video 'super bass solo technique' ($40 for the damn thing) and in this video he shows you how he does it: Slap the string, rest on the string below it, upstroke with the corner of your thumb.

It took be a good week or two to find the 'corner' of my thumb. :rolleyes:

I've become pretty proficient with this technique, but I can't seem to find any practical application for it in my playing! It just doesn't seem to fit.

So here's my question - Do you actively use the 'double thumb', and how long did it take you to get used to using it?

I am not a troll, I want to stress this, I have a cheesy $10 little microphone right next to me and will be glad to show you what I can do. Just ask. :D

Oh, and a for those of you that haven't seen this video: do not look directly into Mr. Wootens pants as your eyes will explode.
    -D :p

2. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    I learned how to do this too.

Rarely, it's useful for getting consecutive sixteenths or fast triplets on the low strings when slapping.

Otherwise, I haven't found much use for it. But then I don't play "lead" bass. If you do want to play like Miller or Wooten, it's necessary.

3. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    The only times I've ever used it

A) covering a victor wooten song

b) having a "thump-off" with my friend who also does it pretty well.

C) the occasional quick triplet in a slap groove

I don't slap much anymore, but I still keep the technique intact, because, well....why not?