1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The Flatwound "E" String (Is there a tonal middle-ground?)

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by GrooveNorth, Feb 23, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Hello,

I'm looking for some insight from my fellow flatwound players (both fretted and fretless) who have found what they believe to be the most tonally balanced set of strings available. I have been using flats for approximately 3 years, and have loved the change/improvement in texture and tone compared to nickel rounds. They also fit in more musical styles than people think and they are more natural for those of us that double on double (see what I did there?)
    I am without a doubt a "flatwound convert" but I always have the same issue with each brand, and gauge, that I have tried: Why is the E so inconsistent with the rest of the set? Regardless of the brand, I always run into this roadblock and it keeps me from being completely satisfied with my tone. I have tried most of the major brands and currently have the following sets strung on various basses: Roto 77s (40-100), Chromes (45-100) and DR Legends (one gauge only... 45-105). These sets run the gamut in terms of oldschool versus modern flatwound tone, but they all suffer from an E string that is either too boomy (Chromes), too tinny (Rotos) or just straight-up dead (DRs). Is there a brand out there that will fix this issue? What is the coveted middle-ground set?

2. christle

christle

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    Try TI Jazz Flats if you want a balanced set that is more mid-focused. LaBella 760FLs are balanced with a more traditional tone. I also really thought that the Cobalt Flats were balanced but with a more modern tone.

Lia_G, Klonk and TomB like this.
  3. sevenyearsdown

sevenyearsdown Supporting Member

Jan 29, 2008
    Sanborn, NY