Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The fretless bass guitar as a first instrument for a complete beginner?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by RiseOfTheWooten, Jan 4, 2006.

1. Most people wouldn't recommend a fretless bass guitar as a first instrument to learn on for a beginner who has never played a bass guitar (or any other instrument for that matter).

But then I was thinking - there are plenty of beginners out there who learn to play the violin, viola, cello and the double bass.. all fretless instruments.

Wouldn't it be ok for a beginner learn to play bass on a fretless bass guitar as a first instrument?

2. gre107

gre107

Dec 25, 2005
    PA
    My first bass was a unlined fretless Fender Jazz. I learned more from playing that bass due to having to think about what I was playing and where the notes were.

Playing fretless makes you more aware of position, touch, sound, dynamics the whole lot!

I would highly recommend it for a begining player.

3. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Much like learning how to drive in a car with a stick shift, it will not be as immediately easy as the alternative but the extra effort will pay off in the end.

4. There is no problem learning the fretless as your first instrument before fretted. Each has its own advantages. But in my opinion i feel that I have progressed much further playing fretted seeing that I can visualize the fretboard and auralize the notes while I play. I got a fretless in May and made huge mods to it. It looks and sounds better but to me its more of a canvas. I go to it when I want to write songs or feel very expressive or to try new ideas. IMO either way works out but to me I use it as a drawing board. Still prefer the fretted though.