1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The Great Bass Preamp/DI Comparison

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by chadhargis, Jun 28, 2018.

1. chadhargis

chadhargis Jack of all grooves, master of none Supporting Member

Jan 5, 2010
    Nashville, TN
    Let the Games Begin!

I love to tinker, and I'm always looking for that elusive "perfect" tone. Of course, we all know that tone needs to change to support the song and type of music you play, and one man's "perfect" is another man's "completely f'ed up beyond all recognition".

That said, I've been experimenting with DI boxes and pedals for several years. Here's what I've used so far:

• Countryman 85 - my first ever DI back in the day. It was a simpler time back then.
    • Radial JDI - Similar to above...just a great DI. Nothing fancy.
    • Zoom B3 - Ah...so many good things in this inexpensive unit. Probably should have kept it.
    • SansAmp BDDI - I just never liked this pedal from day one. Not my bag.
    • VT Bass - See above. Didn't light my fire. No offense to Tech21 fans...just not for me.

The Current Champ - Tone Hammer
    Here's what's on my board now:

• Aguilar Tone Hammer - DI...and some added AGS for a little character. Sweet!
    • Eventide H9 - Anything you can freakin' imagine. A million pedals in one box and very, very high quality audio.
    • MXR Bass Compressor - basic, simple, effective....and the little meter shows you it's working
    • Turbo Tuner - If you are using any othter tuner, throw it in the garbage...get one of these. You'll thank me later.
    • Cioks DC5 - Isolated power that fits UNDER a Pedaltrain Mini

So, the experiment begins in a few days as the players are currently in transit. On deck to win the coveted spot currently occupied by my Tone Hammer are:

• Two Notes Le Bass
    • Darkglass Vintage Ultra V2

I love the Tone Hammer, so why look elsewhere?