Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The heartbreak of - contact dermatitis?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by unbasslichkeit, Mar 20, 2006.

1. Anyone else out there have to deal with this problem? For about as long as I've been playing bass my hands have been subject to dry skin problems, particularly around the index and middle finger of my right hand (my playing fingers.) I usually have to bandage them up fairly regularly (like now) to be comfortable typing or driving, and if I skin a knuckle it's a long time healing properly.

This could be a lot of things, but I've been using D'Addario stainless steel half rounds for going on 20 years and D'Addario Phosphor Bronze on my acoustic guitars, and I've always wondered if exposure to the metal had something to do with it. When I was in college I actually bit the bullet and talked to a dermatologist but got no real diagnosis.

I've always looked upon this as sort of an occupational hazard, but I'm thinking I really need to do more research.

On edit: Found this link, with a link to the full PubMed article.
    (Believe it or not I was a librarian in a previous life - Google sure makes you lazy!)

http://psychcentral.com/news/archives/2004-04/bc-mmc041504.html

2. tkozal

tkozal Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2006
    New York City
    Heh, I just had to go back to wearing a tie at work, after 9 years of casual. All the guys here started to get contact dermatitis under our collars!

If I were you, I would see a dermatologist.

3. Bassmanbob

Bassmanbob Supporting Member

1. When was the last time you had a good medical physical?
    2. One common problem with fingers and hands is Eczema. I have it when exposed to cold temperatures or if my hands get wet frequently. My fingers get real dry and then they crack. It's real pretty.