1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

The Hump

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Shoot_A_Hostage, Apr 14, 2009.

1. No; But I just started playing

3 vote(s)
    7.1%
  2. No; And Ive been playing for years

6 vote(s)
    14.3%
  3. Yes; Im currently going through one

13 vote(s)
    31.0%
  4. Yes; But only after playing for years

20 vote(s)
    47.6%
  1. Shoot_A_Hostage

Shoot_A_Hostage

Apr 14, 2009
    Hey Tb.
    So I have this problem. It's kind of hard to talk about, but I know that you will understand.
    Ummm...
    Here it goes...
    Ive Hit the hump. Im not feelin it anymore guys. When I first started playing bass itfelt so rite. I was the groove! Now, idk...
    It seems no matter how hard I practice, no matter how long i paly, i just cant do it anymore.
    Any suggestions?
    :bawl:
    itd be real kind of you guys.

2. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    More than once.

I posted a thread the last time. It happens. Take a week off, do something else. You can get through it.

3. Yeah man, it happens to the best of us. I came near to quitting because I didn't really get anything from it anymore, I played some guitar, and changed my mind, haha.

Anyway, I recommend just pushing on through.

4. cicatrice

cicatrice

Jun 11, 2005
    For me, it's one of those things that comes and goes-- and it's really hard when practicing by yourself, especially, because you can't really tell you're making progress (even though you probably are), so it starts to feel really frustrating.