1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

The left thumb is evil...

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by basspirate777, Apr 6, 2009.

1. basspirate777

basspirate777

Mar 21, 2009
    Latrobe, Pa
    At least mine is. Then again, it could be a part of a bigger problem...

First off, i just switched to a German grip about two months ago, tho i wasn't much of a french player to begin with. I've been playing electric for 14 years but have only had two years with the double bass. :help:

I can't seem to get my bass to balance when playing arco and standing. This especially troubles me as I'm only on pos. IV in Simandl. It seems that shifting down is causing more problems than shifting up as well. I think that there is simply too much weight on my thumb as there is a definite pause while I shift from (for example) pos. iii/iv down to ii or something similar. Also, it seems that I can't get my bass just to stay in one spot. I will get it to a balanced position while not playing or stopping any notes, but as soon as I begin, it seems some shifting happens(naturally?). :crying:

I do have an ample belly; I'm not jabba the hut but I'm not a skinny lad either. I've actually read some comments that a bit of a tummy supposedly helps balance while standing. Is that total misinformation?

Anyhow, I'd appreciate any directions to threads relevant to the topic or advice. I hope this isn't a totally redundant thread, but I haven't quite found the answers I am looking for while searching.

Thanks for reading!! :)