The 'Lesser' Kings of Funk...

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Funkzfly, Feb 27, 2006.

1. Funkzfly

Jun 15, 2005
    There's a few Bass Players out there that don't get the credit they deserve for being absolute heroes at the Funk. Here's a short rundown:-

Randy Hope Taylor:- You only need to listen to 'Talkin Loud' by Incognito to know where this guy's at...currently working as a London Bus Driver, I kid you not.

George Porter Jr:- Ouch! I scalded my fingers on the phat P-Bassness of Look Ka Py Py

Julian Crampton:- Another British Funk Master who's played with Incognito

Stuart Zender:- And let's face it, the man was a genius, you only need to hear Jamiroquai's first three albums

Fred Thomas:- Saw Fred ply with James Brown a few years back...phat tone from a beat up Carvin, old enough to be my Grandfather but still an absolute funk hero. Respectable mentions to Bernard Odum and Sweets Sherrell

So there's a few to get the ball rolling. Feel free to add your own under appriciated Funk Masters to the list :)

2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Look in this issue of Bass Player and you will see two monsters: Michael Henderson (solo, Miles Davis, Stevie Wonder) and Nathaniel Phillips (Pleasure and studio work).
  3. Funkzfly

Jun 15, 2005
    emagdnim, I didn't intentionally forget's just that everyone knows him!

Dr. Cheese, gonna have to check out Nathaniel Phillips, heard quite a bit about him...and speaking of Stevie Wonder before I forget, Nathan Watts! Very overlooked ;)
  4. PhR

Dec 13, 2005
    Doug Rauch

Very funky playing on albums by Santana, Lenny White, Betty Davis, Billy Cobham etc. One of the very first double thumbers. Great slippery sound.
  5. Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    Aaron Bellamy - Lettuce, Alan Evan's Band

Great funky player most of you probably never heard of. Allthough a couple of you are in the know~
  6. Dr. Cheese

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis