the lesson of my life

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by JustOpenYourMind, Sep 30, 2002.

1. yesterday I had the musical lesson of my life.

to start, I've been playing bass in punk bands for over a year and a half, everyone told me I was a very good bassist and I could play almost anything in punk.

but the thing is one of my friends hooked me with this bunch of metalheads

we started jamming and then i discovered the horrible truth I had the technique and all but I sucked as a musician they were all there throwing those crazy riffs and I could barely follow them.

I discovered that metal is really a melodic and demanding kind of music.
    from now on I will stop playing punk rock because I realize you cannot become a good musician by playing only that kind of music

Metal is the real thing, a complicated punk riff seems childish in a metal band situation

2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    that's a bit of an oversimplification, don't you think? i mean, there are quite a few punk bassists who plow ian hill out of the water, right? ;)

keep an open mind to _all_ styles, and take whatever you can from whatever you hear. just don't ever stop challenging yourself - if you think you've got something mastered, that's the time to go hunting for something that you can't do.
  3. incognito89x

incognito89x ♪♫♪ ♪ ♪ ♫&#983

Sep 22, 2002
    Royal Oak, Michigan