The Melody/Sound You Lose (TB Pro's Invited Here)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by rickbass, Mar 12, 2003.

1. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Dear Abby of Bass;

This is making me sick.....I hear a song/sound in my head and I never have the immediate means to record what I hear.

- Sometimes, I hear a melody in a dream and have no means at my bedside to get it down when I awake. The tune only stays in my head for a couple of minutes before I lose it.
    - Sometimes, I hear something on TV, something as insipid as a sound clip from a commercial, and I immediately, unwillingly, make a song out of it in my head. But I'm not wired 24/7/365 to get the idea down that I hear.

So, the "universal" questions are;

> Does this happen to you???

> Have you figured out a means to get what you hear in your head down so you can develop them later????

I have no formal background in composition, only in reading music. Besides, the best tunes come into my head when I don't try to force them.

Any observations/sharings of similar experiences are much appreciated.
  2. secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    If it's any consolation, I remember reading that Hendrix bemoaned his inability to capture and reproduce all of the fantastic music he heard in his head. :)
  3. rickbass

Just for that consolation, donkey, you get a link to a tune my band put into a rock idiom and which gets great response as the audience gets'll work for you too since we're both in the southern Midwest...."Big Balls in Cowtown"....all the "fiddle stuff" is done on our gitawrs....and aren't donkeys known to be "testicularly-gifted"???
  4. Yes, it often happens to me. Some times I've got paper around and can sketch down the bas(s)ics of the melody or bassline but that's not often as I come up with most of them when I'm walking on my way home, in the shower or on the buss...