The Moses from MF

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Hambone, Apr 23, 2005.

1. Got the blow out neck today from Musicians Friend. I bought one of the MM/G&L 5 string necks for a new construction. Real quick shipping as usual from MF. I swear, I haven't had the first bit of trouble from those guys - they've been great. The rest of the story pretty much sucks though...Took the neck out of the copious packing only find the entire freboard extension had been broken off where it meets the heel of the neck :mad: I'm no engineer, I just play one in the backyard but it seems to me that it's a flaw to put the 23rd fret at precisely that point where it would be the weakest to break off, and that's exactly what it did. The slot provided 2/3 of the break and FedEX did the rest. It begs the question of why there isn't any reinforcement in that portion of the fretboard. Fortunately MF was quick to accept return and I'll be getting another. Read on and see how that might not be a good thing after all...