1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The Next Step

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by grizzly228, May 24, 2012.

1. grizzly228

grizzly228

Feb 11, 2011
    I've been playing on and off (mostly on) for the last ten years. I started in an all-original band with friends/family and had fun, but never progressed as a player beyond root notes and very basic fills. After a year or more away I began backing a singer/songwriter in small bars and coffee house-types. That led to playing with some wannabes in a basement for two years (they never made it out of the basement but I learned a lot of songs!). That led to joining my first real locally successful band playing modern/rock covers; which has finally led me to another (better) Alternative/Modern/Classic rock band.

So long story a little shorter, I know a bunch of songs and a ways to fake songs I don't know. I'm comfortable on stage. I can sing (moderately) and play bass at the same time. I have learned how to be a good bandmate and have great timing. I am constantly told I do a good job and always have a gig lined up...that being said, I don't feel I've progressed as well as a bassist. My music theory knowledge is minimal; my technique is unusual but passable; to the lay-person or average bar patron I am a really good bassist. But I know, and I feel like every musician that watches me knows, that I am really limited and low on the bass player food chain.

Other than simple answers like "practice" or "take lessons," what can I do to take that next step? I feel like a fraud some nights entertaining a room of people and not really knowing what I'm doing other than regurgating basslines I've heard and played a million times.