1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The Old "Fretless For Beginners" Line

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zulujos, Dec 29, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Zulujos

Zulujos

Mar 18, 2014
    But with a twist in that I'm a guitarist for quite a few years. Knowing my way around the fretboard I was wondering what the opinion may be to have a lined fretless bass as a first? I would not even consider unlined but I do like the sliding tone of fretless basses.

2. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    Start with what you want to end up on. If you want to end up on unlined, start with that to avoid a transition period. If you don't care either way, lined fretlesses are more common and do offer useful visual cues that that can be used long after you're a seasoned fretless player. Also pay attention to the side dot placement as it can vary between brands. The tone is the same whether there's lines or not.

3. Before Leo Fender got the clever idea of making a hybrid instrument that would cross a Telecaster guitar with an upright acoustic bass, all bassists had to develop a good ear.

Fortunately, when you play an upright acoustic bass, the fingerboard is right beside your head. Developing a good ear is easy that way. If your finger is in the wrong place, your bass sounds off and you're the first to hear it.

To anybody considering playing a fretless bass, I suggest this: Play one with your eyes closed; with your ears focused on where your fingers ought to be. The more you do this, the less value you'll expect to find in lines on the fingerboard.

P. Aaron and ColdEye like this.
  4. I've never heard the "fretless for beginners" line ever..

Bodeanly and Geri O like this.
  5. moles

moles

Jan 24, 2007
    Winnipeg, MB