The Precision Jazz

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Wadge, May 6, 2005.

1. Hi Guys,

A friend of mine was shopping for a bass and I suggested a jazz bass. We went to a store and sure enough there was a MIA Jazz bass.

Well it was a fender, MIA, had jazz pick-ups, slim neck, off set body - well a fender jazz. The only thing was the masthead said 'precision bass'. :confused: .

Now, I'm no newbie. Been playing bass for 12 years and own a precision myself. And that was no precision. Can you explain it?
  2. Fran Diaz

Fran Diaz

Mar 28, 2002
    Santander, Spain
    Wrong replacement neck maybe? ask the salesman and tell us his story. sure it'll be interesting.

keep groooovin'
  3. David Okun

David Okun

Apr 10, 2005
    Orlando, FL
    I saw a Jazz bass on Ebay with a P Bass neck yesterday.

If it plays well and it's what he wants, point out the mismatch to the salesman, and see if he can get a big discount on it.
  4. I find this rather interesting since I've never heard of this happening before. Just two questions, is it used or new and since when di basses have mastheads?? :confused:
  5. vene-nemesis

vene-nemesis Banned

Jul 17, 2003
    Bilbao España
    Headstock must not be in his english dictionary! :D.
    Mark hoppus comes to my mind when talking about jazz-precision franken basses, i bet hes not the only one who has done weird things to his basses.
  6. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Like a earlier person posted, the Squier Precision Bass special is a 5 with two j pickups but a P style pickguard, body, and neck. I might add they are great playing budget 5s.
  7. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    He said offset body, which instantly means Jazz bass.

However, likely a replacement neck. A lot of people swap necks on Fenders, I personally prefer a Precision neck on a Jazz bass. Just personal preference. Did you notice the nut width? Was it narrow like a Jazz or fat like a Precision?