Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The Problems With MY Band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by fireworks_god, Mar 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fireworks_god

fireworks_god

Oct 30, 2002
    Okay, I thought I would describe my band for analysis from all of you.
    I have been playing bass guitar for 2 years now, and I recently dropped out of high school (senior year, halfway through the year) to concentrate on music and music alone. The extra time has really payed off, I have seen dramatic improvement in ALL aspects of my playing (speed is up to the 200 bpm sixteenth notes range), I'm developing a distinction between notes without directly working on playing by ear, and my technique has become knowledgeable, powerful, and authoriative.
    My rhythm guitarist has been playing for a year. For like the first seven months he only played guitar. Eight hours a day, every day. Seriously. He can basically play anything that he wants to.
    My drummer has been playing drums for seven years. He is the best drummer in the area.
    We don't have a singer yet (I'm going to find one in Norway when I am there for a year). My best friend has been playing guitar for awhile and is advancing as a lead guitarist.
    We are developing our sound to fill the gap in metal today. Metal keeps reaching new lows, but we intend to change all of that. We want Metallica heavyiness with the melodic aspects of Iron Maiden and In Flames (Swedish melodic metal, for those who don't know them), and various other elements (Megadeth, System of a Down, Black Sabbath, etc.)
    My drummer has the worst personality problem of all time. He is extremely huge and is very annoying. We put up with it, as long as he isn't trying to make decisions for the band.