Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

the secret to ska basslines?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Bigwig, Jan 30, 2005.

1. Bigwig

Bigwig

Dec 27, 2003
    Grimcity
    im joining a ska band, and ive been listening to ska for a couple years, but i just cant understand how they have some of those funky flowing basslines..
    is there any bassplayers that play in ska bands, and if so
    would you say most ska bassists know actual scales, or just find a groove and go with it?
    thanks alot.

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Every bassist should know scales, and id bet my hiney that any professional bassist does as well.

3. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    Yes. The secret to making basslines is knowing your stuff, and groovin'. The real secret to making a bassline is this.

"Don't be a stooge, just make a frickin' bassline already"- Me

4. It sounds like you're looking for some type of theory/scale formula for writing ska bass lines, which I doubt exists. I would think it's just like writing any bass line, which you can do using scale theory or playing by ear. I prefer to come up with a bass line in my head and hum it out first before playing it, it's easier for me since I'm not great with all my scales yet.

5. Bigwig

Bigwig

Dec 27, 2003
    Grimcity
    i see..i just thought there may be a secret to how some of those guys have basslines that have nothign to do with the guitar or wind instruments, yet still fit and flow with everything that is going on. but ill stick with it and just try to be creative.

6. goat

goat

Jan 18, 2003
    Bournemouth, England
    Um, answering your question a lot of Ska is strongly based on the use of repeated triads (root note, min/maj 3th, 5ths, and the octave.