The Sound of Bass & Hands

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by chadhargis, Feb 27, 2017.

1. chadhargis

chadhargis Jack of all grooves, master of none Supporting Member

Jan 5, 2010
    Nashville, TN
    My apologies if I've duplicated a thread from somewhere else, I searched and didn't find anything that answered my question.

So...a little background. I've only been playing bass for 7 years and I'm a hobby player. Mostly play in church and on an occasional gig. So I'm no professional by any stretch. So spending money on my basses or rig is recreational cash.

I have a nice selection of basses that fill different needs. A EUB, a Precision with flats, a Jazz, and a Lakland 55-02. Over the years I've messed with preamps, DI's, effects, and such. A few weeks ago I installed some Nordstrand pickups in my Jazz followed by a John East J Retro preamp. It was so bloated and boomy. Really ugly. So I turned off all the amp sims and all the EQ I had on my pedal board and low and behold....it sounded amazingly wonderful. Just the sound of the bass and my hands. It was like an epiphany. I grabbed my stock P bass and plugged it in...wow....nice! Grabbed my Lakie....onboard EQ flat....NICE!

Then I started tracking some stuff with no tone shaping or anything. Just bass and hands. And I really liked it. Playing soft yielded a nice round full sound. Digging in gave me an aggressive growl with some clanging against the frets. Moving my hand position between neck and bridge went from round to burpy.

I get the need for a preamp EQ and effects, but does anyone just love the sound of their bass and hands?