1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The Stupidist thing I've ever done in an audition was...

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by sybarite, Oct 10, 2006.

1. sybarite

sybarite

Mar 4, 2006
    New York, NY
    After trading some "unique" audition stories with numerous friends of mine on the audition cirtcuit, we decided that there should be a thread for "The Stupidist Things you've ever done" in a professional orchestra audition on Talkbass. So... here it is... post away!

2. Hi guys, this isn't a pro. orchestra audition anecdote, but a funny audition anecdote all the same, i hope it will suffice.

Last year i was a highschool student and i was selected for the "Maryland Distinguished Scholar of the Arts" scholarship. The scholarship is only applicable for Maryland public schools, none of which I had any intention of applying to, i just wanted the audition experience and i figured it would look good on a music resume. Of course when they asked me what college was my first choice i planned to say "U MD!!" However, 4 hours after the audition i was going to find myself on a plane to NYC to audition for Manhattan and NYU then to Boston for NEC and Berklee..

I walked in with my bass and played some standards and they seemed interested in me. This began the interview portion of the audition, this is something i've never done tha well with. They asked standard questions.."how long have you been playing" "who have you studied with" "what would you like to do with music"...now...the real question..."where are you applying to college?" So, i rattled off every college NOT in MD. The interviewer raised an eyebrow and said "nothing in maryland?" without thinking for a second i immediately responded with "No, no not really....................................oh crap."

3. THE SAW

THE SAW

Sep 14, 2006